Decluttering our lives.

IMG_1958

Hope all enjoys the holidays.  Over the years we all do seem to collect stuff, and it’s all up to each person how they live with this.  To me I have to have order, and William is slightly obsessive and a person of routine.  Saying this we have accumulated clutter or stuff.

You replace home appliacances and don’t always get rid of the old ones. Our biggest downfall has been our extra garage and our outside space.  We just leave stuff their and close the door. Out of sight out of mind as they say.

This all changed a good couple of weeks back. We woke up one Sunday morning and just decided we have had enough of all this unnecessary “stuff”. We started by agreeing we were not keeping any of this stuff. In a week we had cleared out all. We recycled what we could, sold what we could and the rest we had taken away.

Now the irony of this is that in our home we live very much clutter free, minimalist, I however do tend to have lots of linen, towels, and kitchen China etc. well no more. I sorted it all out and we both decided that you can only have some much that is practical. I counted that I have over the years collected 4 complete cutlery sets.

William himself has a foundness for electronic stuff.  I gladly state we sold all the surpluss which ea actully not a lot at all, but was cluttering up space.  It’s a very liberating feeling.  If you have space it does not mean you must always fill it up with unnecessary stuff you will never use.

Ivan.


6 thoughts on “Decluttering our lives.

  1. My ability to accumulate clutter comes and goes in phases. Now that Aaron and I are married, we’ve both spent the last two years in a joint effort to downsize our collection of the un-necessary. Nice post! Naked hugs!

  2. I just stumbled across your blog and I have read some of your most recent entries. I will go back through the archives later when I have more time. I have been through two moves in the last two years and the decluttering of my debris that I had collected over the years was indeed liberating!

Leave a Reply

