Lonely holidays.

20130626-194147.jpg

I know a couple of single gay guys at work. Now the one in particular, Harry, is finding this time of year tough. He is single and from what I have heard, is not with the best group of friends. And to be honest the pressure on him to find a partner is on as most of his friends are in relationships.

He is currently very depressed. I also think this time of year is rough, with family time and friends having people over for drinks, meals etc.

Irrespective of anybody’s sexual preference, race, or religion, loneliness can be a dark evil. I recall one Christmas before I met William, all my family had gone to Sinagpore and Australia for the holidays. So I was all alone and feeling very sorry for myself.    I could have taken that flight to join my family, but the reality is I choice not to. Instead I headed to friends who were in Germany at the time. Those flights were okay, however traveling on your own is no fun.

I am not sure if I can do anything for Harry. I can listen, maybe give some wise words if I have any. My concern is deeper than just having a talk. These holidays can be stressful, it’s all about family, and belonging somewhere. Think about all those around you and if you all alone, I genuinely am thinking of you all.

Ivan.


2 thoughts on “Lonely holidays.

  1. As someone who’s spent the past several holidays alone, I can tell you there’s nothing worse than the feeling that you’ve got no one to spent that special day with. Especially when social media is full of your friends’ pics of their joyful celebrations.

    If you can reach out to your colleague and help him in any way, then do so. It may not seem much, but I’m sure he’ll appreciate it more than you know.

Leave a Reply

