You may ask yourself.

And you may find yourself living in a shotgun shack
And you may find yourself in another part of the world
And you may find yourself behind the wheel of a large automobile
And you may find yourself in a beautiful house, with a beautiful wife
And you may ask yourself
Well…How did I get here?

Letting the days go by
Let the water hold me down
Letting the days go by
Water flowing underground
Into the blue again
After the money’s gone
Once in a lifetime
Water flowing underground

And you may ask yourself
How do I work this?
And you may ask yourself
Where is that large automobile?
And you may tell yourself
This is not my beautiful house
And you may tell yourself
This is not my beautiful wife

Letting the days go by

These are the lyrics of
Talking Heads – Once In A Lifetime Lyrics

So you may ask why? Well the reason is because I read one of my favorite bloggers The Ramblings of a VERY WISE BLOGGER.

He wrote a post about dating. So you may ask what has that got to do with me, plenty as it turns out.

When I met William I was actually not looking for a long term relationship, I was just trying to get back into dating.

br />
20140608-165907-61147092.jpg

I had been in a relationship, that in retrospect was very unhealthy. Peter was my age, from a very well to do family. Peter had been well educated at the top schools, but this had contributed to his believe he was in a way superior to all. My family were very fond of Peter, he was charming and very well spoken and had the sex appeal of a super star actor. However at 20, I was naive and had a very sheltered upbringing. With Peter, I literally saw the world, and our relationship lasted for just over four years.

Peter controlled me and my low esteem and no confidence did not make a healthy relationship.

So a year plus on after we ended our relationship, I was living in the city in an apartment that was one floor below the top floor. I was living in the sky and I felt safe. Peter and myself had never lived together, and so my home was my refuse place. My safe haven. I was escaping life, I was discovering my career, I also had just finished my final studies. I did not know who I was.

Back to the topic Ivan: when I met William I could not image someone more different, and not someone I would date. He was from out of town, and had just moved to the city. We were from very different backgrounds. William was not looking for a boyfriend, he was enjoying his single status and his freedom, his independence. He was living alone for the first time in his life.

So how you may ask, how did we get to this place. Simply, I got lucky.

It’s been a long road, not an easy one. However I am with a man who believes in me, in relationships, in loyalty , in being faithful, and we have a very healthy relationship that we both work at. Today we live in a house we both fell in love with at first sight, have adventures together, and prefer being in each other’s company than with friends or family. I have not seen a club, or bar for many years, and yes that were I am today. Would not choice anything different. We still don’t agree on everything, and that’s okay, and after all this time I still find him sexy, funny, and my go to person.

Ivan

20140608-175259-64379016.jpg


Leave a Reply

