Barilla Pasta

Barilla Chairman Says Gays ‘Can Eat Pasta From Another Manufacturer’

I would never do (a commercial) with a homosexual family, not for lack of respect but because we don’t agree with them. Ours is a classic family where the woman plays a fundamental role,” Barilla chairman Guido Barilla said in a recent interview.

As is always the case when a business CEO reveals his true colors, he later offered the standard-issue “I’m Sorry You Feel That Way” fauxpology: “I apologize if my words have generated controversy or misunderstanding, and if they have offended the sensibilities of some people.”

20130928-181831.jpg

I am not sure how I actually feel about this. Does it effect me, does it effect anybody else. Well maybe it does effect another gay man or women who works for Barilla. And then how do the family members of Barilla feel, those Barilla family members immediate or not who are gay. Yes Mr Guido Barilla, you have relatives that are GAY. So you actually shunning them and directly saying you want nothing to do with them. So much for your ‘family values’.

Now I am not the in-your-face gay guy. I sadly do not do pride marches, do not have our house painted in the rainbow colours. But I am against bullies, discrimination and against women abuse. I believe I have a voice when others are too scared to speak.

So were does that leave me on this whole pasta debate? Not sure to be honest, I am very aware that advertising and media play a huge part on branding of a product/s. But then I live as a gay person, who does not have twist myself into a pretzel, to be someone I am not, and for me Mr Guido Barilla your comments are unacceptable. We have come so far, we do not see people of colour, women can vote, women can run for president, men can be stay at home parent’s, etc etc.

So yes I have an opinion, no Barilla pasta for this house.

Ivan


Leave a Reply

